Soul of My Saviour

Anima Christi
Rev. J. D. Aylward, O. P.

Soul of my Saviour, sanctify my breast:
Body of Christ, be Thou my Saving Guest;
Blood of my Jesus! bathe me in Thy tide,
Wash me, ye waters gushing from His Side.

Strength and protection may Thy Passion be;
Jesus! oh, hear my sighs and answer me!
Deep in Thy Heart, Lord, hide and shelter me;
So shall I never, never part from Thee.

Guard and defend me from the foe malign,
In death’s dread moments make me only Thine;
Call me, and bid me come to Thee on high,
Where I may praise Thee, reigning in the sky.

The Marist Brothers, American Catholic Hymnal (New York: P. J. Kenedy & Sons, 1911).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music. Bookmark the permalink.