Hail, Queen of Heaven

Virgin Mary by the Circle of Leopold Kupelwieser

Hail Queen of Heav’n, the ocean Star,
Guide of the wand’rer here below!
Tossed on life’s sea, I claim thy care,
Save me from peril and from woe.
Mother of Christ, Star of the sea,
Pray for the wand’rer, pray for me.

O gentle, chaste, and spotless Maid,
My sinful soul now prays to thee;
Remind thy Son that He has paid
My ransom from iniquity.
Virgin most pure, Star of the sea,
Pray for the sinner, pray for me.

So traversing this vale of tears,
To thee, blest advocate, I cry;
Assuage my sorrows, calm my fears,
And soothe with hope my misery.
Refuge in grief, Star of the sea,
Pray for the mourner, pray for me.

And while to Him who reigns above,
In God-head One, in Person Three,
The Source of life, of grace, of love,
Homage I pay on bended knee;
Do thou, bright Queen, Star of the sea,
Pray for thy children, pray for me.

Brothers of the Christian Schools, The De La Salle Hymnal (New York: La Salle Bureau, 1913).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.