To Jesus’ Heart, All Burning

To Jesus’ Heart, all burning,
With fervent love for men,
My heart with fondest yearning
Shall raise the joyful strain.

Chorus
While ages course along,
Blest be with loudest song
The sacred Heart of Jesus,
By every heart and tongue.

O Heart for me on fire,
With love no man can speak,
My yet untold desire,
God gives me for Thy sake.

Too true I have forsaken
Thy flock by willful sin;
Yet now let me be taken
Back to Thy fold again

As Thou art meek and lowly,
And ever pure of heart,
So may my heart be wholly
Of Thine the counterpart.

O that to me were given
The pinions of a dove,
I’d speed aloft to heaven
My Jesus’ love to prove.

When life away is flying,
And earth’s false glare is done,
Still sacred Heart, in dying,
I’ll say I’m all Thine own.

The Christian Brothers, The Catholic Youth’s Hymn Book (New York: P. O’Shea, 1871).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.