In This Sacrament, Sweet Jesus

In this Sacrament, sweet Jesus!
Thou didst give Thy Flesh and Blood,
With Thy soul and God-head also,
As our own most precious food.
Yes, dearest Jesus! I believe it,
And Thy presence I adore,
And with all my heart I love Thee,
May I love Thee more and more.

Come, sweet Jesus, in Thy mercy,
Give Thy Flesh and Blood to me,
Come to me, O dearest Jesus!
Come my soul’s true life to be,
Come that I may live forever,
Thou in me and I in Thee;
Living thus, I shall not perish,
But shall live eternally.

Brothers of the Christian Schools, The De La Salle Hymnal (New York: La Salle Bureau, 1913).

Announcement: You can now follow the four SaintlySages blogs on SaintlySages Facebook ( http://www.facebook.com/SaintlySages-131108567633967/ ). God bless!

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music. Bookmark the permalink.