Mary, the Mother of God

I’ll sing a hymn to Mary,
The Mother of my God,
The Virgin of all virgins,
Of David’s royal blood.
Oh, teach me, holy Mary,
A loving song to frame,
When wicked men blaspheme thee,
To love and bless thy name.

Refrain
O Mary, dearest Mother!
I’ll sing a hymn to thee;
Thou art the Queen of heaven,
Thou, too, my Queen shalt be;
Help me to love and bless thee
Unto eternity.

The saints are high in glory,
With golden crowns so bright;
But brighter far is Mary,
Upon her throne of light.
Oh, that which God did give thee,
Let mortal ne’er disclaim;
When wicked men blaspheme thee,
I’ll love and bless thy name.

But in the crown of Mary
There lies a wondrous gem,
As Queen of all the angels,
Which Mary shares with them.
“No sin hath e’er defiled thee,”
So doth our faith proclaim;
When wicked men blaspheme thee,
I’ll love and bless thy name.

E. F. MacGonigle, The Sodalist’s Hymnal (Philadelphia: E. F. MacGonigle, 1887).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.