God of Mercy and Compassion

God of mercy and compassion!
Look with pity upon me;
Father! let me call Thee Father,
‘Tis Thy child returns to Thee.

Refrain
Jesus, Lord, I ask for mercy;
Let me not implore in vain;
All my sins I now detest them,
Never will I sin again.

By my sins I have abandoned
Right and claim to Heav’n above,
Where the Saints rejoice for ever
In a boundless sea of love.

See our Saviour, bleeding, dying,
On the Cross of Calvary;
To that Cross my sins have nailed Him,
Yet He bleeds and dies for me.

Nicola A. Montani, St. Gregory Hymnal and Catholic Choir Book (Philadelphia: The St. Gregory Guild, 1920).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.