O Lord, I Am Not Worthy

Domine, non sum dignus

O Lord, I am not worthy
That Thou shouldst come to me,
But speak the word of comfort,
My spirit healed shall be.

I’m longing to receive Thee,
The Bridegroom of my soul,
No more by sin to grieve Thee,
Or flee Thy sweet control.

O Lord, Thou art all holy,
The angels Thee adore;
How, then, ought I sincerely
My wrongs and sins deplore!

But when Thou soon wilt enter
My heart, my sinful heart,
Then heal me, be my shelter,
For Thou my Saviour art.

Lord, how can I thank Thee
For such a gift as this?
A gift which truly filleth
My soul with heav’nly bliss!

I praise Thee, I extol Thee,
I love Thee, O my Sire,
Till once in joy and glory,
In heav’n I Thee admire.

The Marist Brothers, American Catholic Hymnal (New York: P. J. Kenedy & Sons, 1911).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.