The Holy Child Jesus

Jesus, teach me how to pray,
Suffer not my thoughts to stray;
Send distractions far away,
Sweet holy Child.

Let me not be rude or wild,
Make me humble, meek and mild,
Pure as angels undefil’d,
Sweet holy Child.

When I work or when I play,
Be Thou with me through the day;
Teach me what to do and say,
Sweet holy Child.

Make me love Thy Mother blest,
Safe beneath her care to rest,
As a bird within its nest,
Sweet holy Child.

When the hour of death is nigh,
Then may Mary standing by
Take me in her arms to die,
Sweet holy Child.

So through all eternity
Will I bless their charity,
Who first led my steps to Thee,
Sweet holy Child.

L. J. Kavanagh and James M. McLaughlin, Crown Hymnal (Boston: Ginn and Company, 1912).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.