How Kind It Is of Thee

How kind it is of thee to stay,
Bright angel, far from heav’n away,
And watch, by night, and watch by day,
Beside a sinful child of clay.

How good and pure I ought to be,
Who always live so near to thee;
Beneath thine eyes the whole day round,
Where’er I tread is holy ground.

O blessed guardian, kind and mild,
Have pity on a poor weak child,
And pray that God may make me strong
To do the right and shun the wrong.

Thy pray’rs shall be my shield and spear,
Dear angel mine, when sin is near;
Thine arms enfold me when I die,
And waft me homeward to the sky.

Brothers of the Christian Schools, The De La Salle Hymnal (New York: La Salle Bureau, 1913).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.