Dearest Lord Jesus, My Saviour, My Friend

Dearest Lord Jesus, my Saviour, my Friend,
Unto Thy keeping my soul I commend;
Guard and defend me in weal and in woe,
On me Thy favor in bounty bestow.

Living and dying in Thee will I rest,–
Thus will I ever be truly most blest;
Let me not wander or swerve from Thy side,
Be Thou, Lord Jesus, my guardian and guide.

Let not Thy Passion for me be in vain;
Dearest Lord Jesus my weakness sustain;
When by temptation my virtue is tried,
Let me be mindful of Thee crucified.

Be Thou my comfort, my strength, and my stay,
Dearest Lord Jesus, on life’s toilsome way;
And when my journey has come to an end,
Be Thou in Judgment my merciful Friend.

John G. Hacker, Catholic Hymnal (New York: Schwartz, Kirwin & Fauss, 1920).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.