When Morning Gilds the Skies

When morning gilds the skies,
My heart awaking cries:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
When ev’ning shadows fall
This rings my curfew call:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

When mirth for music longs,
This be my song of songs:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
Whate’er my hands begin,
This blessing breaketh in:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

This greeting of great joy
I never knew to cloy:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
When sorrow would molest,
Then sing I undistress’d:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

When worldly things I rue,
This hymn doth hope renew:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
Thro’ sickness, want and pain,
‘Tis still my happy strain:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

Ye nations of mankind,
In this your concord find:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
Let all the earth around
Ring joyous with the sound:
May Jesus Christ be praised!

Sing, suns and stars of space,
Sing, ye that see His face:
May Jesus Christ be praised!
God’s whole creation o’er,
For aye and evermore
Shall Jesus Christ be praised!

Ludwig Bonvin, “Hosanna” Catholic Hymn Book, 4th ed. (St. Louis: B. Herder, 1914).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.