How Sweet the Name of Jesus Sounds

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds
To loyal Christian ears;
It soothes our sorrows, heals our wounds,
And drives away our fears.

O Jesus, Shepherd, Spouse and Friend,
My Prophet, Priest and King!
My Lord, my life, my way, my end!
Accept the praise I bring.

How weak the effort of my heart,
How cold my warmest thought:
But when I see Thee as Thou art,
I’ll praise Thee as I ought.

Till then I would Thy love proclaim
With ev’ry fleeting breath;
And may the music of Thy name
Refresh my soul in death.

Brothers of the Christian Schools, The De La Salle Hymnal (New York: La Salle Bureau, 1913).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.