My Guardian Angel

Bless me, befriend me,
Sweet Angel, I pray;
Watch me, defend me
By night and by day;
Shelter, enfold me
Within thy bright wings;
Guide me, uphold me
In life’s wanderings.
Beam on my gladness,
Thy joy I shall share;
Shine on my sadness,
And sorrow I’ll bear;
Go thou before me,
My path shall be clear;
Hover thou o’er me,
No foe shall I fear.

Angel so holy!
Whom God sends to me,
Sinful and lowly,
My Guardian to be,
Wilt thou not cherish
The child of thy care?
Let me not perish–
My trust is thy prayer.
Oh, may I never
Forget thou art near;
Keep–keep me ever
In love and in fear.
Waking and sleeping–
In labor and rest–
In thy sweet keeping
My life shall be blest.

Till my last sorrow
I’ll walk in thy light;
Till the tomorrow
Eternal and bright;
Till thy soft pinions
Shall waft me on high
To those dominions
More fair than the sky.
Bless me, befriend me,
Sweet Angel, I pray;
Watch me, defend me
By night and by day;
Shelter, enfold me
Within thy bright wings;
Guide me, uphold me
In life’s wanderings.

E. F. MacGonigle, The Sodalist’s Hymnal (Philadelphia: E. F. MacGonigle, 1887).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.