O God of Loveliness

O bello Dio, Signor del Paradiso
St. Alphonsus
Tr. Rev. E. Vaughan, C.SS.R.

O God of loveliness,
O Lord of Heav’n above,
How worthy to possess
My heart’s devoted love!
So sweet Thy Countenance,
So gracious to behold,
That one, one only glance
To me were bliss untold.

Thou art blest Three in One,
Yet undivided still;
Thou art that One alone
Whose love my heart can fill.
The heav’ns and earth below,
Were fashioned by Thy Word;
How amiable art Thou,
My ever-dearest Lord!

To think Thou art my God,–
O thought forever blest!
My heart has overflowed
With joy within my breast.
My soul so full of bliss
Is plunged as in a sea,
Deep in the sweet abyss
Of holy charity.

O loveliness supreme,
And Beauty infinite;
O ever-flowing Stream,
And Ocean of delight;
O Life by which I live,
My truest life above,
To Thee alone I give give
My undivided love.

Nicola A. Montani, St. Gregory Hymnal and Catholic Choir Book (Philadelphia: The St. Gregory Guild, 1920).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.