O Mary, My Mother

O Mary, my Mother, so tender, so true,
With childlike affection my spirit imbue;
As long as I linger in life here below,
Thy loving protection in bounty bestow.

If thou dost forsake me, to whom shall I go?
For thou art my refuge in weal and in woe;
The snares that surround me with trembling I see,
But one thought consoles me: that thou art with me.

Whenever I weary of warfare and strife,
Refresh me, O Mary, thou joy of my life;
Though fierce be the conflict, no foe will I fear;
I know, dearest Mother, that thine aid is near.

O Mary, my Mother, I’m longing to see
The glory that Jesus has given to thee;
In life let me truly thy child ever be,
That death may lead me to Jesus and thee.

John G. Hacker, Catholic Hymnal (New York: Schwartz, Kirwin & Fauss, 1920).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.