Divine Grace

O Jesu! my beloved King,
I give all thanks to thee,
Who by thy cross hast merited
Celestial grace for me.

In Adam rais’d to dignities
Transcendent and divine;
In Adam fallen from the bliss
That once in him was mine.

That grace to which my native strength,
Could never have attain’d,
That grace, O my Incarnate God,
In thee I have regain’d.

O gift of love! O gift immense!
Surpassing nature’s law;
What force to will and to perform
From this pure fount I draw.

By this how many passing acts,
Which else had been in vain,
Endued with meritorious power,
A prize eternal gain!

By this to me it open’d wide,
Through death’s inviting door,
A brighter world, a nobler realm
Than Adam lost of yore.

O Jesu! on whose grace alone
I by thy grace depend,
Grant me the grace to persevere
In grace unto the end.

Henry Formby, ed., First Series of Hymns and Songs for the Use of Catholic Schools and Families (London: Burns and Lambert, 1853).

This entry was posted in Bible, Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Hymns, Liturgy, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Sacred Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.